Seventh EDiLiC Warsaw Congress  (Poland),  July 5-7, 2017

Awakening to languages and  pluralistic approaches in the service of learner skills

 

The 7th EDiLiC International Congress took place in Poland and addressed the different ways in which language awakening and pluralistic approaches are pedagogical approaches at the service of the learner. This congress took place one year after the Gyor congress in Hungary (2016) and this  was therefore the opportunity to share in the short term on research and advances in language awakening.

See the website

 

Description of the theme of the congress

The Le Mans Congress (2006) questioned the role of awakening to languages as a lever for the development of plurilingualism. That of Barcelona (2008) considered this trend as an integrative curricular approach aimed at the development of plurilingual and pluricultural competence.  In Lausanne (2010), the general theme was teacher training and classroom practices for all pluralistic approaches (integrated language teaching, intercomprehension between neighboring languages and intercultural approaches putting language at the heart of their concerns). The 4th Congress, which was held in Aveiro in 2012, provided an assessment of the knowledge produced in the area of awakening to languages, in particular on its modes of registration in the field of language teaching. The 5th Congress, which took place in Rennes in 2014, considered the Purial Approaches as a possible practice to manage certain sociolinguistic and educational issues in teaching, such as taking into account minority languages.

The subject of the 6th congress was inclusive, ethical and plurilingual language education. It took place at Széchenyi István University in Győr (Hungary) and was co-organized with the University of West Hungary.

As for the 7th congress, it offered participants the opportunity to discuss the way in which pluralistic approaches and the awakening of languages are approaches at the service of learners.

The presentations and discussions were organized around the following three axes: 

1.

Pluralistic approaches in the context of learner competences in the foreign language classroom

Pluralistic approaches - learner skills in language class 

Pluralistische Ansätze vs. Lernerkompetenzen im fremdsprachlichen Klassenraum

Podejścia pluralistyczne a kompetencje ucznia w szkolnej klasie językowej

2.

Pluralistic approaches in teacher education and their practical application in a school context

Pluralistic approaches - training of teacher mediators and classroom practices

Pluralistische Ansätze in der Berufsausbildung von Lehrerinnen und Lehrern vs. Schulpraxis

Podejścia pluralistyczne w kształceniu zawodowym nauczycieli a praktyka szkolna

3.

Integrated teaching - methodological problems and practical implications

Integrated didactics - methodological issues and practical implications

Integrierte Fremdsprachendidaktik - methodologische Probleme und praktische Implikationen

Zintegrowana dydaktyka języków obcych - problemy metodologiczne i implikacje praktyczne

Septième congrès EDiLiC Varsovie (Pologne),  5-7 juillet 2017

L'éveil aux langues et les approches plurielles au service des compétences de l'apprenant

 

Le 7e congrès international EDiLiC a eu lieu en Pologne et a abordé les différentes manières dont l'éveil aux langues et les approches plurielles sont des approches pédagogiques au service de l'apprenant. Ce congrès a pris place un an après le congrès de Gyor en Hongrie (2016) et ce fut donc l’occasion de partager à plus court terme sur les recherches et les avancées en matière d'éveil aux langues.

Voir le site

 

Description du thème du congrès

Le Congrès du Mans (2006) a interrogé le rôle de l’éveil aux langues comme levier pour le développement du plurilinguisme. Celui de Barcelone (2008) a considéré ce courant comme une approche curriculaire intégrative visant le développement de la compétence plurilingue et pluriculturelle.  À Lausanne (2010), le thème général était la formation des enseignant-e-s et les pratiques de classe pour toutes les approches plurielles (la didactique intégrée des langues, l’intercompréhension entre les langues voisines et les approches interculturelles mettant la langue au coeur de leurs préoccupations). Le 4e Congrès, qui s’est tenu à Aveiro en 2012, a proposé un bilan des connaissances produites dans le domaine de l’éveil aux langues, notamment sur ses modes d’inscription dans le champ de la didactique des langues. Le 5e Congrès, qui a eu lieu à Rennes en 2014, a considéré les Approches purielles comme une pratique possible pour gérer certains enjeux sociolinguistiques et éducatifs de l’enseignement, tels que la prise en compte des langues minorisées.

Le 6e congrès a eu pour sujet l’éducation langagière inclusive, éthique et plurilingue. Il a eu lieu à l’Université Széchenyi István à Győr (Hongrie) et a été co-organisé avec l’Université de Hongrie de l’Ouest.

Le 7e congrès a quant à lui offert la possibilité aux participant d'aborder la manière dont les approches plurielles et l'éveil aux langues sont des approches au service des apprenants.

Les présentations et échanges se sont organisés autour des trois axes suivants : 

1.

Pluralistic approaches in the context of learner competences in the foreign language classroom

Approches plurielles – compétences de l’apprenant en classe de langues 

Pluralistische Ansätze vs. Lernerkompetenzen im fremdsprachlichen Klassenraum

Podejścia pluralistyczne a kompetencje ucznia w szkolnej klasie językowej

2.

Pluralistic approaches in teacher education and their practical application in a school context

Approches plurielles – formation des enseignant.es médiateurs.trices et pratiques de classe

Pluralistische Ansätze in der Berufsausbildung von Lehrerinnen und Lehrern vs. Schulpraxis

Podejścia pluralistyczne w kształceniu zawodowym nauczycieli a praktyka szkolna

3.

Integrated teaching – methodological problems and practical implications

Didactique intégrée – problèmes méthodologiques et implications pratiques

Integrierte Fremdsprachendidaktik – methodologische Probleme und praktische Implikationen

Zintegrowana dydaktyka języków obcych – problemy metodologiczne i implikacje praktyczne