EDiLiC Conference Thessaloniki (Greece), July 6th-9th, 2021

Online conference

Pluralistic approaches, plurilingual competences, language appropriations: the learner at the center of educational realities

 

This 9th conference seeks to showcase reflection on evidence-based practices, professional expertise and research findings in the field of pluralistic approaches to languages and cultures.

 

The theme of the 9th Congress of the EDiLiC Association, organized in Greece, pursues reflection initiated by the association and its members in recent years whilst taking into consideration local realities and challenges. This reflection is further explored from a dual, yet paradoxical perspective: that of the impact of the implementation of pluralistic approaches on the development of the plurilingual skills of learners and that of the absence of such approaches in the day-to-day life of  schools, both in terms of curricula and teaching practices.

 

During this conference we will pursue ideas initiated at the Rennes (2014) and Györ (2016) conferences and reexamine the recommendations resulting from the work of the Council of Europe. In particular, we aim to support “overarching language education, inclusive of and relevant to all school languages and all disciplinary fields, which encourage the construction of identities open to linguistic and cultural plurality and diversity, in the sense that languages ​​are the expression of different cultures and of differences within a specific culture” (Cavalli et al., 2009: 8).

 

 

Our objective during this congress is to make our exchanges an important contribution to the implementation of pluralistic approaches to languages ​​and cultures in contexts which may be deprived of official and explicit support allowing the establishment of plurilingual and multi / intercultural educational practices, as in the case of the Hellenic context.

 

Thus, this congress will give presenters the opportunity to present work that

- promotes the establishment of pluralistic approaches in formal and informal language teaching contexts, such as those for refugee or immigrant populations;

- involves the use of pluralistic approaches within the framework of the teaching of a subject integrated into a foreign language;

- demonstrates an evolution of representations and teaching and learning practices towards a pluralistic perspective.

 

Our congress aims to give voice to innovative experiences, coming from various contexts, while operationalizing a pragmatic plurilingualism through the use of several languages ​​and through a truly intercultural attitude, thus taking up the discussion launched at the 8th EDILIC congress in Lisbon ( 2019).

 

Axes of the congress

 

Axis 1

 

• Pluralistic approaches and the development of the plurilingual and intercultural skills of learners

 

A true integration of pluralistic approaches in curricula and in daily teaching-learning raises a series of challenges and necessitates overcoming certain obstacles. It can also add value to the development of learners' skills. This axis examines connections that could exist between languages ​​intended for education (nursery, foreign, second, etc.) from a perspective that takes into account and emphasizes individual and collective plurilingualism. Interventions will show the advantages of pluralistic approaches but also the difficulties faced by education actors (teachers, educators and decision makers of language policies) as well as the resistance that would prevent the implementation of these approaches in different educational systems.

 

Axis 2

 

• Pluralistic approaches from a socio-affective perspective

The desire to give schools the opportunity to offer, establish and disseminate inclusive education also requires the establishment of approaches that actively participate in the development of the students’ well-being.

This axis will host presentations highlighting the work of the contribution of pluralistic approaches in the establishment of socio-affective experiences contributing to the development of intercultural and inter-linguistic reflection as well as to the modification of the representations and attitudes of the pupils and the teachers.

 

Axis 3

  • Integrated didactics and linguistic and non-linguistic teaching

This axis intends to give a rightful place to works which, on the one hand, help to support the definition of integrated didactics and, on the other hand, expose various uses of it in the teaching of linguistic and non-linguistic disciplines. The questions that could be discussed here are: What are the cognitive advantages of these approaches? How could we deal with the difficulties that arise and what are these difficulties? How can they influence the representations of learners and teachers?

 

Axis 4

  • Research and training articulation

Teacher training in general and in particular for language teachers or content teachers (at primary, secondary and university levels), working in formal or informal contexts (associations, NGOs, artistic circles), constitutes the main accessible way to the establishment of pluralistic approaches to languages ​​and cultures. During the congress, various initial and continuing training programs will be presented which are developed to prepare practitioners in the field to design material based on pluralistic approaches, adapted to new audiences, and to implement it in their establishments. Another concern of this axis will relate to the impact of these programs on the educational practices, representations and attitudes of teachers and learners.

 

Axis 5

 

• Alternative pluralistic approaches in formal and informal fields

 

This axis focuses on the presentation of artistic and creative practices as favorable fields for the establishment of pluralistic approaches to languages ​​and cultures. Plurilingual Kamishibai, children's albums, plays, artistic creations in the broad sense ... are particularly favorable tools for the implementation of pluralistic approaches, thus giving the possibility of creating plurilingual, pluricultural and intercultural activities and productions from the linguistic repertoires of learners.

 

Submission of proposal until February 15, 2021

Conférence en ligne

Approches plurielles, compétences plurilingues, appropriations langagières :

l’apprenant.e au centre des réalités éducatives

 

Ce 9ème congrès cherche à mettre en évidence les retours d’expériences sur les pratiques, les expertises du terrain et les résultats des recherches qui ont été réalisées dans le domaine des approches plurielles des langues et des cultures.

 

La thématique proposée pour le 9ème congrès de l’Association EDiLiC organisé en Grèce poursuit la réflexion engagée par l’association et ses membres ces dernières années et tient compte des réalités et des défis locaux. Elle reprend la réflexion à partir d’une double tension : celle de l’impact de la mise en œuvre des approches plurielles sur le développement des compétences plurilingues des apprenant.e.s et du constat que sa prise en considération est très peu présente explicitement dans la réalité scolaire tant au niveau des curricula que des pratiques des enseignant.e.s.

 

Plus spécifiquement, durant ce congrès nous reprendrons la réflexion débutée lors des congrès de Rennes (2014) et de Györ (2016) et les recommandations des travaux du Conseil de l’Europe. Cette réflexion vise notamment à soutenir une « éducation langagière globale, transversale à toutes les langues de l’école et à tous les domaines disciplinaires, qui fonde une identité ouverte à la pluralité et à la diversité linguistique et culturelle, en ce que les langues sont l’expression de cultures différentes et de différences au sein d’une même culture » (Cavalli et al., 2009 : 8). 

 

Notre objectif lors de ce congrès est de faire de nos échanges une contribution importante à l’implantation des approches plurielles des langues et des cultures dans des contextes qui peuvent être dépourvus d’un soutien officiel et explicite permettant la mise en place de pratiques éducatives plurilingues et pluri/ interculturelles, comme c’est le cas en contexte hellénique.

 

Ainsi, ce congrès donnera l’occasion aux intervenant.e.s de présenter des travaux qui 

  • favorisent la mise en place des approches plurielles dans les contextes formels et informels d’enseignement des langues, comme celui des publics réfugiés ou issus de l’immigration ;

  • impliquent le recours aux approches plurielles dans le cadre de l’enseignement d’une matière intégré à une langue étrangère ;

  • démontrent une évolution des représentations et des pratiques d’enseignement et d’apprentissage vers une perspective plurielle. 

 

Notre congrès vise à donner la parole à des expériences innovantes, provenant de contextes variés, tout en opérationnalisant un plurilinguisme pragmatique par l’emploi de plusieurs langues et par une véritable posture interculturelle, reprenant ainsi la discussion lancée lors du 8e congrès EDILIC à Lisbonne (2019).

 

Axes du congrès 

 

Axe 1

 

  • Les approches plurielles et le développement des compétences plurilingues et interculturelles des apprenant.e.s

 

Une véritable intégration des approches plurielles dans les curricula et dans l’enseignement-apprentissage au quotidien relève d’une série de défis et surmonte certains obstacles. Elle peut également apporter de véritables valeurs ajoutées au développement des compétences des apprenant.e.s. Cet axe vise à interroger les articulations qui pourraient exister entre les langues destinées à l’enseignement (maternelles, étrangères, secondes, etc.) dans une perspective qui prend en compte et qui fait valoir les plurilinguismes individuels et collectifs. Les interventions montreront les avantages des approches plurielles mais aussi les difficultés auxquelles sont confrontées les acteurs/actrices de l’enseignement (enseignant.e.s, éducateurs/éducatrices et décideurs des politiques linguistiques) ainsi que les résistances qui empêcheraient la mise en place de ces approches dans les différents systèmes éducatifs. 

 

Axe 2

 

  • Les approches plurielles dans une perspective socio-affective

La volonté de donner à l’école la possibilité de proposer, d’instaurer et de diffuser une éducation inclusive, passe aussi par la mise en place des approches qui participent activement au développement du bien-être des élèves. 

Cet axe accueillera des interventions faisant état des travaux de l’apport des approches plurielles dans l’instauration d’expériences socio-affectives contribuant au développement d’une réflexion interculturelle et inter-linguistique ainsi qu’à la modification des représentations et attitudes des élèves et des enseignant.e.s. 

 

Axe 3

 

  • La didactique intégrée et enseignements linguistiques et non-linguistiques

 

Cet axe entend donner la place à des travaux qui, d’une part, contribuent à étayer la définition de la didactique intégrée et, d’autre part, en exposent divers usages dans l’enseignement des disciplines linguistiques et non-linguistiques. Les questionnements qui pourraient être abordés ici sont : Quels sont les avantages cognitifs de ces approches ? Comment pourrait-on faire face aux difficultés qui se présentent et quelles sont ces difficultés ? Comment peuvent-elles influencer les représentations des apprenants et des enseignant.e.s ?

 

Axe 4

 

  • Articulation recherche et formation

 

La formation des enseignant.e.s en général et en particulier des enseignant.e.s de langues ou des disciplines non linguistiques (aussi bien au primaire, au secondaire qu’à l’université), exerçant dans des contextes formels ou informels (associations, ONG, milieux artistiques), constitue la principale voie d’accès à l’implantation des approches plurielles des langues et des cultures. Lors du congrès, seront présentés les différents programmes de formation initiale et continue élaborés pour préparer les praticien.ne.s du terrain à concevoir du matériel basé sur les approches plurielles, adapté aux nouveaux publics, et à le mettre en œuvre dans leurs établissements. Une autre préoccupation de cet axe portera sur l’impact de ces programmes dans les pratiques éducatives, les représentations et les attitudes des enseignant.e.s et des apprenant.e.s. 

 

Axe 5

 

  • Approches plurielles alternatives dans des espaces formels et informels

 

Cet axe porte sur la présentation des démarches artistiques et créatives en tant qu’espaces favorables à la mise en place des approches plurielles des langues et des cultures. Le Kamishibaï plurilingue, les albums jeunesse, les pièces de théâtre, les créations artistiques au sens large… sont des outils particulièrement favorables à la mise en place des approches plurielles, donnant ainsi la possibilité de créer des activités et des productions plurilingues, pluriculturelles et interculturelles à partir du répertoire linguistique des apprenants.

 

Soumissions acceptées jusqu'au 15 février 2021